Facebook marketing is a must in todayâ€™s Internet-connected world. Everyone whoâ€™s anyone seems to have a Facebook page. It gives you a great opportunity to connect with people, building relationships and brand loyalty. But Facebook can have some pitfalls, too, so manage your personal account appropriately to ensure youâ€™re not hurting your professional reputation.
Facebook & Internet Privacy
One important thing to note about Facebook is that you have the ability to set your privacy levels so that people who are viewing either your personal profile or your Facebook Pages can only see certain information.
Itâ€™s easy to adjust your Privacy settings to ensure that people are only seeing what you want them to see. To monitor and change your privacy settings:
- Login to Facebook
- Click on the arrow on the right side of the menu bar at the top of the screen
- Select â€œPrivacy Settingsâ€ from the dropdown menu
From there, youâ€™ll have the option to select who can see status updates and photos, how you connect with new people, control what happens when people tag you or post on your wall, and manage past posts. You can also block people and apps, and manage your settings for ads, apps, games and websites.
Why Does Internet Privacy Matter?
There may be certain circumstances under which you wouldnâ€™t want information on your Facebook page to be publicly viewable. You can use the Internet privacy settings to customize who can see your content â€“ and more importantly, who canâ€™t see it. To give you some examples of when you might not want people viewing your profile, imagine these scenarios:
- Youâ€™re a recent college graduate interviewing for a new job. You wouldnâ€™t want potential employers to see drunken or unflattering pictures of you;
- You may be going through a divorce or breakup and want keep certain things private or only share them with specific people.
- You could be on a sensitive work assignment that would warrant hiding your details, such as a law enforcement professional wanting to maintain a low profile.
- You might be avoiding certain friends or family or just want a period where you can maintain your privacy.
Suspending or Deleting Your Account
While you can use your privacy settings to customize what people can see, you can also put your Facebook profile under temporary suspension. To temporarily deactivate your account:
- Login to Facebook
- Click the arrow at the right side of the menu bar at the top of the screen
- Select â€œAccount Settingsâ€
- Select â€œSecurityâ€ from the options on the left
- Click â€œDeactivate your account.â€
When your account is deactivated, no one can see your account or find you in a Facebook search. At any time, you can reactivate your account by logging in with your E-mail and password.
You can also permanently delete your account, but this requires you to fill out a form through Facebook. Facebookâ€™s system delays the deletion process in case users change their mind, so this action does not happen immediately.
When you permanently delete your account, some information, such as the messages youâ€™ve sent to other people, may still be visible. Facebook states that their servers may also retain some material, such as photos and notes, but that material would not be accessible to other people using Facebook.
With the right approach to Facebook marketing you can build your professional image and connect with potential customers. But remember to monitor your Internet privacy settings, and make sure viewers are only seeing what you want them to see on your Facebook pages.